Come what may...

10:18 P.M., Thursday, Jan. 22, 2004: question 1: abortion
All right, my first question! This is from KristaJean...and the question is: What are your views on abortion?

I generally avoid this topic when possible because I feel it's been beaten like a dead horse. But here's how I feel about it...

I'm, generally speaking, pro-choice. And I'll tell you why that is. It has nothing to do with whether I agree with the actual act of abortion, because I honestly don't know how I feel about that. It's more the fact that I can't stand it when people try to tell others how to live their lives. If someone has their mind made up to do something, there really isn't much you can do to stop them. At least, I know I'm stubborn like that.

Now, I've had friends that had abortions. And I saw how agonizing a decision it was for them. It's definitely not something to be taken lightly, and it makes me fucking disgusted to see anyone that uses it as a form of birth control. Good god, is it THAT fucking hard to spend $5 on a pack of condoms? Hell, you can go to Planned Parenthood and pick that shit up for free! Anyway, it's a life-altering decision. I think that in the case of my friends that went through it, it was the best option for them for that part of their life. And I'm not going to look down on them for the choice they made at that particular time.

I, personally, could never do it. Not that I'd have to worry about it anyway with being married, but still, I couldn't bring myself to do that. It does take a certain amount of strength to go through with it, and I don't think it's something I could do. And it's something that affects more than the woman in question...it affects everyone she knows. So I say it's to be used as a last resort when there are no feasible options available. I do think people should take more precautions to be responsible (of course, in the event of rape, there's not much that can be done, but I'm talking about consentual sex)...so many people leap before looking, and then things like unwanted pregnancy and STD's come about. If people would just stop and think more often, we'd probably be better off. That's just my opinion, of course.

Keep the questions coming! And thanks to KristaJean for my first one! :D

<~I will love you~>
LISTEN
mail
leave a note
profile
guestbook
host

HEAR
present
past
fun stuff
rings

I'm feeling:
The current mood of deutsche_bildschoen@hotmail.com at www.imood.com