Come what may...

8:57 P.M., Tuesday, Mar. 02, 2004: on this PERFECT day...@@
I swear to gods, the people that staff the DMV are a bunch of humorless trolls that never get laid. And I fucking hate them all.

Ready for a fucking WONDERFUL story? Here goes...

Yesterday I was having a great day. The weather was gorgeous out, I was being very productive by getting the car washed and the oil changed and buying some baby stuff. It all changed when I tried to get through the gate to get back on post to go home. Unbeknownst to me, my front license plate fell off at some point during the day, most likely when I went through the car wash. (Who knows where it fell off, though...it's somewhere in Watertown, that's all I can figure out.) So of course the security guard at the gate tells me to pull over to the side and show my registration and whatnot. The insurance card I had in my car had expired on Sat., even though it was paid up through April. So they decide to run my info, and find out that there was a lapse in our insurance last year. They then take it upon themselves to tow my car to the auto craft center. This triggers a horrible panic attack to the point where I could not calm down and the paramedics were called to take me to the hospital. Oddly enough, the EMT that helped me was none other than Josh's dad. At first it was kinda awkward because, well, it's my ex-boyfriend's dad, but it actually was comforting to have someone I knew with me, at least for the ride to the hospital. And he was very nice and helpful, to boot.

Anyway, I finally manage to calm down after about an hour, and I get to triage and end up waiting for well over an hour because someone was too inept to inform the nurse that was taking me to labor and delivery that I was in the waiting room. She takes me up there, and they hook me up to a monitor to make sure the baby's okay. (She ended up being perfectly fine...it was just me that was a wreck.) Tony calls me while I'm being monitored, and I inform him of what's going on. He of course is none too pleased, and is worried about both me and the baby. Anyway, they release me after they decide that the baby was okay and that I'd calmed down enough to go home. The only person I could think of to call to come get me was my FRG leader, Lydia. So she comes to get me, I tell her what's going on, and we head to the MP station to find out what I'm supposed to do next. The guard on duty says to go to the DMV in the morning and show them proof of insurance. We say okay and she drops me off at home.

Lydia comes to pick me up at 8 this morning to go to the DMV. When they open, the bitch with a corn cob up her ass informs me that because of the lapse of insurance last year (why the fuck NYS cares about the past when we're currently covered is fucking beyond me) that I can't drive our car unless I either pay over $1000 in fines (do I look like a fucking millionaire?) or surrender our plates and not drive for 62 days (like that's possible with being 8 months pregnant, give me a fucking break). Then finally she gives us a more viable option of getting 6 points of I.D. (what is it with the points system in this state?) and have the title and registration turned over to my name from Tony's. I would need driver's license and military ID from both of us, our marriage license, my power of attorney, a new insurance card in just my name, and the title to our car. I'd never seen the title, and since we don't own it--we make payments on it--it made no sense to me that we'd have it anyway. But the system said it was sent to Tony at the barracks 6 days after our wedding. Tony had no idea about it, either, when he called me not long afterwards. I told him about what the DMV bitch said about turning the car over to me and whatnot, and I'm getting upset because the MP's negelected to tell me that when they towed it to the auto craft center that it was $5 a day to keep it there. So the manager of the center says with MP approval that it can be towed to my garage. The approval's granted, and I pay $65 for last night's and today's towing. Lovely.

Anyway, we talk to the rear detachment commander about what course of action to take. We manage to get Tony to scan copies of his military ID and driver's license to the battalion, which I get that afternoon. I had no idea about the title, and thought that the paper that had the lien info on it would suffice. So Lydia and I, with the rear-d commander, head back to the DMV office and show the bitch the info she needed. No can do without the title, and she's so "by the book" that I want to fucking punch her and tell her to have some damn compassion. So we head back to the battalion and the commander tries to figure out how to work around this, and we managed to get ahold of the bank that the title was through and have them fax over a lien paper of some sort that would've sufficed in place of the title. The commander says to meet him at 9:30 tomorrow morning at the DMV to try and get this sorted out once for all and let me drive our car again. Lydia takes me home, and I start to practically tear the house apart to find this title. Less than half an hour later, I found it mixed in with a bunch of other papers in our 2nd bedroom that's in the process of being converted into a nursery. I was so excited to see this damn piece of paper that I actually screamed and practically jumped up and down. I immediately called Lydia and she said she'd call another wife in our FRG to take me to the DMV in the morning.

So now, I wait. I want to take the title and shove it in the bitch's face and rub her nose in it. It'll be all I can do to hold my tongue and not go off on her if she starts giving me a bunch of crap. And of course, Tony's worried because he can't take care of this shit over there and I'm left to deal with it...is this deployment over yet?

<~I will love you~>
LISTEN
mail
leave a note
profile
guestbook
host

HEAR
present
past
fun stuff
rings

I'm feeling:
The current mood of deutsche_bildschoen@hotmail.com at www.imood.com